DKWF 2016 Scholarship Winners

September 6, 2016

Immediate Release – DKWF 2016 Scholarship Winners

The Descendants of Korean War Foundation (DKWF) announced the winners of four scholarships awarded in honor of the four Congressional members who served in the Korean War. The DKWF Scholarships were established to provide financial assistance for descendants of U.S. veterans who served in the Korean War.

“Korean War veterans, their families and communities should be proud of these young, talented students rewarded for their academic excellence and for their exceptional leadership potential. These bright young students will make significant contribution to the society and will serve in leadership roles in the future,” said Justin C. Rhee, President of DKWF. Dr. Ruth Starr, Chair of the 2016 DKWF Scholarship Committee, said, “The committee would like to thank all the applicants for the high quality historical research and writing exhibited in the essay stories. DKWF acknowledges all applicants as winners for their accomplishments.”

For the 2016 academic year DKWF scholarship, eligible students were required to show proof enrolled in a U.S. accredited college or university as a degree seeking student or a high school senior who will attend college. Selection criteria includes their academic and leadership achievement, personal merit, letters of recommendation, and a short essay about their family member who served in the Korean War. We are pleased to award four $500 scholarships to the following students:

The Sam Johnson Public Service Scholarship Award

  • Samantha Carter of East Boothbay, ME

The John Conyers Jr. Public Service Scholarship Award

  • Nicholas Imboden of Chelsea, MI

The Howard Coble Public Service Scholarship Award

  • Haley Blanchard of Lilburn, GA

The Charles B. Rangel Public Service Scholarship Award

  • Rachel Leigh Tvrdy of Wahoo, NE

DKWF would like to recognize six finalists. The finalists are:

Tyler Decosse of Spencerport, NY

Glenna A. Duncan of Duncanville, TX

Austin McBee of Gassville, AR

Kaley Ann Sturgill of Johnson City, TN

Nicole Reisinger of Stone Mountain, GA

Kara Victoria Hutter of Spring Green, WI

For further information or to make contribution toward scholarship, please contact

Dr. Ruth Starr, Chair of the 2016 DKWF Scholarship Committee at Exec.Board@DescendantsofKoreanWar.Org.