DKWF 2013 Scholarship Winners

Immediate Release – July 26, 2013

The Descendants of Korean War Foundation (DKWF) announced the winners of DKWF’s 2013 Scholarships today during its 2013 Commemoration Dinner and Reception at the National Press Club located in Washington, DC.

DKWF announced four scholarships to descendants awarded in honor of the four Congressional members who served in the Korean War.   The DKWF Scholarships were established to provide financial assistance for descendants of U.S. veterans who served in the Korean War.

“Korean War veterans, their families and communities should be proud of these young, talented students rewarded for their academic excellence and for their exceptional leadership potential. These bright young students will make significant contribution to the society and will serve in leadership roles in the future,” said Justin C. Rhee, Chair of the 2013 DKWF Scholarship and Internship Committee. “The committee acknowledges all applicants as winners for their accomplishments.”

For the 2013 academic year DKWF scholarship, eligible students were required to show proof enrolled in a U.S. accredited college or university as a degree seeking student or a high school senior who will attend college. Selection criteria includes their academic and leadership achievement, personal merit, letters of recommendation, and a short essay about their family member who served in the Korean War.  We are pleased to award four $500 scholarships to the following students:

The John Conyers Jr. Public Service Scholarship Award
Cassandra Lowell
Urbana High School (Harvard University)
Monrovia, MD

The Sam Johnson Public Service Scholarship Award
Evan Taylor Clinton
George High School (Columbia University)
Fallsington, PA

The Charles B. Rangel Public Service Scholarship Award
Richard Holden
Villanova University
Haworth, NJ

The Howard Coble Public Service Scholarship Award
Brianna R. Parsons
Brooke Point High School (Virginia Tech)
Stafford, VA

Eight finalists of the DKWF scholarship program for 2013 were also recognized at the DKWF’s 2013 Commemoration dinner and reception.  The finalists are:

Leinani Amorin
Bel Air, MD
(Penn State University)

Shiloh Donnell
McLean, VA
(Hope College)

Alexander Langley
Grand Junction, CO
(Grand Junction High School)

Stuart Littlejohn
Selmer, TN
(McNairy Central High School)

Augustus Logsdon
Lexington, KY
(University of Virginia)

Alec Magdaleno
Davie, FL
(University of Chicago)

Sierra Minchaca
Napa, CA
(University of CA, Berkeley)

Caleb Wilkerson
Morton, IL
(Harding University)

DKWF is a 501(c)(3) certified non-profit organization run solely by volunteers and dedicated to recognizing, remembering and honoring the U.S. men and women who fought for freedom and democracy during the Korean War, often referred to as “the Forgotten War.”  DKWF offers scholarships and internship opportunities to descendants of U.S. veterans of the Korean War.

For further information or to make contribution toward scholarship, please contact Dr. Ruth Starr, Executive Vice President for Communications at Exec.Board@DescendantsofKoreanWar.Org.


On August 22, 2012, DKWF announced its 2012 Scholarship winners and they are:

Sarah Sarkesian of Lake Zurich, IL (Emory University)
Kevin Michael Campbell of Natchez, MS (Adams County Christian School)
Elena Rose Duren of Madison, WI (Madison East High School)
Samantha Michelle Wood of Heber Springs, AR (Heber Springs High School)